Remember me

Register  |   Lost password?

Bookmark & Share



Spring 2017 Conference of the Multinational Finance Society

Start date

End date

April 7, 2017 April 9, 2017


Lemesos, Cyprus [Map it]


The objective of the conference is to bring together academic researchers, educators, doctoral students and practitioners from various international institutions to focus on timely financial issues and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries including the recent financial and economic crisis.

Andreas Charitou - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Panayiotis Theodossiou - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus


University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus


Papers in all areas of finance, accounting, banking and economics dealing with developed and developing countries are welcome. Specific topics include, but are not limited to: Asset Pricing; Banking; Behavioral Finance; Buyouts; Capital Structure; CDS; Commodities; Contagion in Financial Markets; Corporate Governance; Corporate Restructuring; Cost of Bankruptcy; Credit Scoring Models; Cross Listing; Derivatives; Emerging Markets; Executive Compensation; Financial Accounting; Financial Analysts; Financial Reporting; FX Arbitrage; Investment Banking; IPOs; M&As; Macro Finance; Market Efficiency; Market Microstructure; Payout Policy; Portfolio Management; Real Options; Regulation; Risk Measurement; Shipping Finance; Public Sector Financial Constraints in Times of Austerity; Management Traits and Decision Making; The Role of Social Media in the Dissemination of Information; The Management of Restraints in Sources of Finance.

Policy-oriented papers from researchers in government and industry are particularly welcome. Suggestions for the organization of panel sessions on topics of general interest will also be considered.


Please visit our website at to submit a copy of a completed or nearly completed paper or a detailed dissertation proposal or case study (PDF format) by the deadline.

The cover page should include the affiliation, address, phone and email of each author. Each participant agrees to serve as a discussant of a paper of his/her own area of interest, if needed.

Please include of whether you would like your paper to be considered for any of the awards mentioned below. Only completed papers qualify for any of the awards.


Best Paper Award (prize 750 USD)
(Open to all papers presented at the conference)

Best Doctoral Paper Award (prize 500 USD)
(Open to all thesis papers presented at the conference)


Registrations fee by December 11, 2016 (early bird registration) is €305 and by January 15, 2017 is €405. Registration fee thereafter is 20% extra. For doctoral students, a discount of €85 applies. Non-academic accompanying persons can registered for the social functions at the time of main registration for an additional fee of €120. Registered participants can attend all social functions, which include two lunches, a reception, coffee breaks and a gala dinner. Papers registered after January 15 cannot be considered for the awards. The Multinational Finance Society will provide financial support for a limited number of registered doctoral students not sponsored by their institutions.


Information regarding the conference, accommodations, feature speakers, travel arrangements, fees and other activities will be published on the MFS website as needed. Information about past conference can be found on the website as well.


Cyprus University of Technology
Tassos Papadopoulos Building
Themidos and Ifigenias Corner

Lemesos, Cyprus


Nihat Aktas - WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany
George Athanassakos - University of Western Ontario, Canada
Wolfgang Bessler - Justus-Liebig University Giessen, Germany
George Blazenko - Simon Fraser University, Canada
Jeffrey Callen - University of Toronto, Canada
Andreas Charitou - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Hassapis Christis - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Ephraim Clark - Middlesex University Business School, UK
George Constantinides - University of Chicago, USA
Ian Cooper - London Business School, UK
Manthos Delis - University of Surrey, UK
Yiannis Dendramis - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Gikas Hardouvelis - University of Piraeus, Greece
Phil Holmes - Leeds University, UK
Mehmet Karan - Hacettepe University, Turkey
Johan Knif - Hanken School of Economics, Finland
Yoram Kroll - Ono Academic College (OAC), Israel
Anastasios Malliaris - Loyola University Chicago, USA
Minna Martikainen - Hanken School of Economics, Finland
Spiros Martzoukos - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Roni Mihaely - Cornell University, USA
Andreas Milidonis - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Nikolaos T. Milonas - University of Athens, Greece
Usha Mittoo - University of Manitoba, Canada
Christos Negakis - University of Macedonia, Greece
George Nishiotis - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Steven Ongena - University of Zurich, Switzerland
Edgar Ortiz - Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Leszek Preisner - AGH, Poland
Wendy Rotenberg - University of Toronto, Canada
George Skiadopoulos - Queen Mary University of London, UK & University of Piraeus, Greece
Frank Skinner - Brunel University, UK
Theodore Sougiannis - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Melita Stephanou-Charitou - University of Nicosia, Cyprus
Nikos Vafeas - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Julian Williams - Durham University, UK
Avi Wohl - Tel Aviv University, Israel
David Yermack - New York University, USA
Ania Zalewska - University of Bath, UK


Panayiotis C. Andreou - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Irene Karamanou - University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Neophytos Lambertides - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Christodoulos Louca - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Photis Panayides - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Andreas Petrou - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Panikkos Poutziouris - University of Central Lancashire, Cyprus
Christos Savva - Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
George Theocharides - CIIM, Cyprus